Six candidates file their nominations on Day 1 | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Six candidates file their nominations on Day 1

delhi Updated: Mar 20, 2012 00:02 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

No major political party came to file nomination papers on the first day of filing papers for the upcoming municipal elections on Monday.

But six persons — one each from BSP and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and four independent candidates — filed their nominations.

The LJP candidate filed the nomination from Sarai Pipal Thala ward (15) in North Delhi Municipal Corporation, while the BSP candidate submitted papers from Bhajanpura ward (253) in East Delhi Corporation. The Bhajanpura seat is reserved for women. An independent candidate filed from Khirchpur in East Delhi and two independent candidates filed from Jharoda and one from Mangolpuri. Congress and BJP are expected to start filing nominations from March 22. The last date of submission of nomination is March 26.

A total of 1.12 crore eligible voters will be able to exercise their franchise in the polls.