Six sitting MPs find place in Congress list for Delhi | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Six sitting MPs find place in Congress list for Delhi

delhi Updated: Mar 22, 2009 21:34 IST

All the six sitting MPs including two union ministers Ajay Maken and Kapil Sibal have figured in the Congress list announced for coming Lok Sabha polls in Delhi with the party trusting its old hands.

The party has renominated sitting MPs Kapil Sibal, Ajay Maken and Sandeep Dikshit from Chandani Chowk, New Delhi and East Delhi seats respectively.

MPs Jagdish Tytler, Sajjan Kumar and Krishna Tirath whose constituencies have changed after delimitation have been asked to prove their mettle from newly created Northeast Delhi, South Delhi and Northwest Delhi seats respectively.

The list was announced late last night. However, the party is yet to decide a candidate for West Delhi parliamentary constituency, a newly created seat in the post delimitation era.

Sources said sitting MLAs Mahabal Mishra and Mukesh Sharma are said to be in the fray along with Alka Lamba for the seat from where the BJP has fielded leader of Opposition in Delhi Assembly Jagdish Mukhi.

Ajay Maken, incumbent minister of state for urban development minister, is a strong Congress contender from New Delhi Parliamentary seat having trounced BJP's heavyweight Jagmohan in the last Lok Sabha polls.