St. Mark’s celebrates Founder’s Day | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

St. Mark’s celebrates Founder’s Day

delhi Updated: May 16, 2011 01:46 IST

Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Founder’s Day celebrated at St. Mark’s, Meera Bagh, celebrated its 21st Foundation Day recently. The day saw the unfurling of the school flag by the Chairman TP Aggarwal, in the presence of the Principal A Aggarwal and the Vice Principal V Wahi. Cultural programme was followed by the investiture ceremony wherein the head boy Mani Makkar, the head girl Taniya Arora and other office-bearers were reminded of their duties towards the school.

The best students for the academic session 2010-2011 of different classes were awarded their certificates and trophies. The best house award for sports, bulletin board display and discipline was also presented to the house in-charges and house captains. The day also saw the cutting of the birthday cake and wishing the school the very best in all its endeavours.

Springdales School, Pusa Road, hosted 45th Gowardhan Dass Declamation Contest on April 21, 2011. Participants spoke on topics ranging from ‘Binayak Sen — the state versus individual’ to ‘Anna Hazare — creation of the media’.

The occasion was graced by Dr Rajni Kumar, Chairperson and Founder Principal, and members of the management board, teachers and students of various schools.

Principal Ameeta Mulla Wattal said, “It is the young that confront the world with a spirit of daring that is tempered by idealism and humanism. The contest is not just about display of language skills, but also about a genuine concern and sensitivity to the world and its problems.”

The event was chaired by Anup Bhambani and the judges were Dr Rudrashish Chakraborty, Associate Professor of English; Nirmalaya Samanta, Assistant Professor of English; and Prof. Chandrachur Singh, Department of Political Science, Delhi University.

The prestigious Gowardhan Dass Memorial Trophy was bagged by Maharaja Sawai Mansingh Vidyalaya, Jaipur, while the Anil Dass Trophy for the second best team was awarded to Springdales School, Dhaula Kuan

Shaheed Rajpal D.A.V Public School, Dayanand Vihar, organised the ‘Science Colloquium’. The function was held to honour resource persons and students whose valuable contribution made Vaigyanika—a yearly inter-school science quiz—a great success. Science Colloquium is organised by the Science Education Centre of the school. This year, it was to mark the celebrations of the international year of Chemistry. Principal Renu Laroiya welcomed the guests.

The chief guest for the occasion was Dr Bibek Bandyopadhyay, Director Solar Energy Centre, Ministry of New and Renewable Sources of Energy (Government of India) who explained the importance of conservation of energy and importance of trapping solar energy. Guest of honour Dr N.K Uberoi, Vice President DAV CMC, congratulated the prize winners.