Subbirami Reddy to head science panel | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Subbirami Reddy to head science panel

delhi Updated: Sep 02, 2009 01:41 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
New Delhi

Prominent UPA and Opposition leaders have been appointed chairpersons of 24 standing committees for various departments of Parliament.

The BJP’s Sushma Swaraj will head the external affairs panel, Murli Manohar Joshi finance and M Venkaiah Naidu home. Leader of Opposition L.K. Advani is a member of the committee on home affairs, a ministry he presided over when the NDA was in power.

Congress leaders Jayanthi Natarajan chairs the panel on law and justice and Vilas Muttemwar heads the panel on food, consumer affairs and public distribution.

Former minister Subbirami Reddy is the chairman of the committee on science and technology that has eight ministries and departments under it, including the ministries of environment and forests, atomic energy and the departments of scientific and industrial res-earch.

Amethi Member of Parliament Rahul Gandhi is a member of the panel on human resource development headed by Oscar Fernandes.

DMK’s T.R. Baalu will now head the railways committee. Rail Minister Mamata Banerjee had objected to the chairmanship of CPM’s Basudeb Acharia, who will now head the agriculture panel.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature