Target 2016: Multiple Metro stations in residential, commercial hubs | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Target 2016: Multiple Metro stations in residential, commercial hubs

delhi Updated: Dec 06, 2011 02:01 IST
Subhendu Ray
Subhendu Ray
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

If all goes well according to Delhi Metro Rail Corporation’s (DMRC) plans, many important residential and commercial areas of Delhi will have more than one Metro station and corridor in phase 3, which is expected to start functioning by 2016.

This, according to DMRC, is one step towards achieving its goal of providing last-mile connectivity to every household. DMRC aims to take Metro services within 500 metres of every household of Delhi by 2021.

“Our mission is to see Delhi Metro cover 400km of Delhi, with a station within 500 meters of every citizen’s home in 10 years. Phase 3 expansion has been planned in such a way that residential and commercial areas will have more than one station and Metro corridor,” said DMRC spokesperson Anuj Dayal.

Some of the important areas that are expected to have multiple Metro stations in phase 3 include Dhaula Kuan (educational and transport hub), Nehru Place (IT hub), Mayur Vihar (one of the biggest residential areas in the city), Punjabi Bagh (residential-cum-commercial hub), Naraina (residential area), Janakpuri (residential area), Okhla (industrial area), Jasola (residential and commercial area), Rohini (residential area) and Greater Kailash.

Currently, only five areas are served by multiple metro stations: Dwarka, Rohini, Uttam Nagar, Janakpuri and Mayur Vihar. For better connectivity, a total of 14 interchange stations will come up in phase 3.

These will be at Azadpur, Netaji Subhash Place, Rajouri Garden, INA, Lajpat Nagar, Mayur Vihar Phase 1, Anand Vihar, Welcome (all on the Yamuna Vihar-Mukundpur corridor), Janakpuri West, Hauz Khas, Kalkaji Mandir, Botanical Garden (Janakpuri West-Botanical Garden corridor) Mandi House, Kashmere Gate (Central Secretariat-Kashmere Gate corridor). Currently, there are nine interchange stations on the network.