Telengana ministers resign from Lok Sabha | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Telengana ministers resign from Lok Sabha

delhi Updated: Mar 04, 2008 01:23 IST
Highlight Story

Telengana Rashtra Samiti chief K Chadrasekhar resigned from the Lok Sabha along with three MPs of his party protesting the UPA government's failure to carve out a separate Telangana state.

He followed it up by attacking the Congress, describing the party as “villain number one” vis a vis the issue of carving out a separate from Andhra.

Lok Sabha Speaker Somanth Chatterjee later accepted the resignations.

“This betrayal will cost them at the Centre and Andhra Pradesh,” Rao said.

“I am cursing the Congress on behalf of the Telangana people for the betrayal. Congress will be unseated from power in the next elections.”

The TRS chief and his MPs handed their resignation letters to Speaker Somnath Chatterjee in the House shouting “Jai Telengana” amid the din in the House.

Sources said the letters were in tune with the rules and were accepted by the Speaker after due procedures.

As the TRS had already quit the UPA, its decision to quit the Lok Sabha is unlikely to make an impact on the coalition’s numbers in the House.

Rao remained tightlipped about his plans, particularly on joining the BJP-led NDA that expressed solidarity with the TRS in the House.

He held the Congress president Sonia Gandhi responsible for delaying the Telenagana issue. “She was behind all decisions of the government and is the UPA chairperson,” Rao said.