Upadhyay missing in BJP’s final list, ally Akali Dal also declares nominees for 4 seats | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Upadhyay missing in BJP’s final list, ally Akali Dal also declares nominees for 4 seats

delhi Updated: Jan 21, 2015 11:03 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay did not feature in the final list of candidates released by the party’s central leadership on Tuesday.

Upadhyay’s supporters had protested at Delhi BJP office on Tuesday afternoon since his name was missing from party’s first list that came out on Monday.

Another senior leader and former Mayor Arti Mehra, who had contested unsuccessfully last time, also failed to make the cut.

Sanjay Singh got the BJP ticket from Vikaspuri, Nandani Shar ma from Malviya Nagar, former Mayor and councillor Sarita Chaudhary from Mehrauli and Rakesh Gulia from Greater Kailash.

With this the number of women candidates fielded by BJP has reached eight.

The BJP had left four seats for its Punjab ally Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal). The Akali Dal also announced its candidates from four seats.

“The Shiromani Akali Dal will fight from four seats in Delhi as per the formula of our alliance with the BJP,” said Akali Dal Delhi unit president Manjeet Singh GK.

Manjinder Singh Sirsa, the previous MLA from Rajouri Garden will contest to retain the seat, Harmeet Singh Kalka got the ticket from Kalkaji and Jitender Singh Shunty, the previous year’s winner from Shahdara, also got the ticket. The party left out Shyam Sharma from the Hari Nagar seat and instead chose Avtar Singh Hit.

Of the four candidates, Sirsa will contest on Akali Dal’s weighing scale symbol, while the other three candidates will fight on BJP’s lotus symbol. Delhi goes to polls on February 7 and the results will be declared on February 10.