Using Paytm, 10 Delhi Metro stations to go cashless from January 1 | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Using Paytm, 10 Delhi Metro stations to go cashless from January 1

delhi Updated: Dec 24, 2016 15:17 IST
Delhi Metro

Passengers wait in queue to buy tickets at the Violet line's Escorts Mujesar metro station in New Delhi.(Saumya Khandelwal/HT File Photo)

The Delhi Metro will make 10 of its stations, across various sections of its network, cashless from January 1, 2017 by opting for digital payment app Paytm for token purchase and smart card recharge, it was announced on Friday.

The commuters at these stations will be required to scan the QR code at the station with the Paytm app on their mobile phones. This will send a message to the token vendor or the customer care operator, who will then issue the token or recharge the card with the desired amount, Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) said in a statement.

The 10 metro stations which have been chosen, are done so because of certain prominent factors, namely, major footfall of smart-card holders there (at least 70%) and adequate mobile connectivity.

They are Rohini East and Rohini West on the Red Line; MG Road Station on Yellow Line; Mayur Vihar Phase-I, Nirman Vihar, Tilak Nagar, Janakpuri West, and Noida Sector-15 on Blue Line; and Nehru Place and Kailash Colony on the Violet Line.

Refunds, if sought by any customer, will also be done through Paytm accounts instead of cash and users will receive the refunded amount within four days in their Paytm wallet.

For exigencies though, at least one counter with cash option will remain open on these stations initially, the DMRC added.