Wards being shuffled from one civic body to another | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 05, 2016-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Wards being shuffled from one civic body to another

delhi Updated: Apr 25, 2012 00:10 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Despite trifurcation, last-minute changes in the status of wards have continued. On April 20, 22 wards were shuffled to different zones to fit them into the North or South Delhi municipal corporations.

Wards such as Daryaganj and Nizamuddin, earlier part of the city zone have been transferred to the central zone in South Delhi while areas such as Kohat Enclave and Wazirpur, earlier with the Rohini Zone, have been transferred to Civil Lines zone in North Delhi. These changes were made by the Department of Urban Development of the Delhi government.

“The ward numbers haven’t changed but instead of belonging to South Delhi, some wards have been shifted to North Delhi. This has been done to erase confusion about the corporations," said an MCD official.

In the trifurcation process, areas of some zones were split. So changing their zones became important. “For instance, Najafgarh zone belongs to South Delhi. But after trifurcation, two of its wards fell under North. It became necessary to bring those two under Narela so that no confusion about their status remained," added the official.

MCD has 12 zones that were distributed between the three new bodies. The zones were created to decentralise power.

Tri Nagar and Ashok Vihar which were earlier part of Rohini zone have also been transferred to Civil Lines. The residents of the wards will now have to go to the new zonal offices to get their work done.