Who is Durga Shakti Nagpal? | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Who is Durga Shakti Nagpal?

delhi Updated: Aug 11, 2013 00:13 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Caught in the eye of a massive political storm that included the ruling SP, the opposition parties, the Muslim community in UP and the illegal sand mining mafia, Durga Shakti Nagpal has almost become a household name.

A profile:

Current Posting: Suspended from the post of Sub-divisional Magistrate, Gautam Budhha Nagar, UP

Took on: sand mafia under her jurisdiction in Gautam Buddha Nagar in UP along Hindon and Yamuna river. Durga arrested illegal miners and confiscated their trucks and tractors carrying illegal sand.

She was suspended from her service by the Uttar Pradesh government citing communal tension as she had allegedly demolished an illegal mosque wall. Soon after her suspension, it boiled into a controversy as different versions of the case appeared in media and Akhilesh government was accused of playing communal politics and supporting for sand mafia.

A recording of a ruling Samajwadi Party leader, Narinder Bhati, appeared in which he was claiming to have got the IAS officer transferred within straight 41 minutes.

Originally, a Punjab cadre officer, Durga took transfer to Gautam Buddha Nagar as her husband is also an IAS officer and serving in Noida.

The story so far
At Centre's instance, 13 cadres/Joint cadres — agreed to give IAS a 2-year term in 2006-07. Every case of premature transfer to be referred to panel of bureaucrats headed by chief secretary.

* Only Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Union Territories including Delhi, Goa, Manipur-Tripura, Sikkim and Jammu & Kashmir kept their word.

* The rule hadn't helped IAS officers of Himachal Pradesh and Jharkhand who had averaged a minimum tenure of 0.9 years.

* IAS officers in Karnataka, Chhattisgarh and Haryana averaged a minimum tenure of 1.1 years.

* States that refused to consent to the 2-year fixed term included Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Bihar.