Year-old civic bodies to elect mayors in April | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Year-old civic bodies to elect mayors in April

delhi Updated: Mar 21, 2013 23:35 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
hindustan times

The city’s three municipal corporations are now almost a year old and excitement is brewing over the upcoming elections of their mayors and deputy mayors.

The North Delhi Municipal Corporation on Thursday was the first off the block, and announced that the election for the top post will be held on April 8. Similarly, the civic bodies for the eastern and southern parts of the Capital are expected to announce their schedules of the first meeting soon.

Meera Aggarwal, Annapurna Mishra and Savita Gupta are the mayors of the north, east and south civic bodies.

The last date for the filing of nominations in the office of municipal secretary is April 1. “Candidates can withdraw their candidature at any time before the election is proceeded within the meeting,” a corporation official said.

Sources say that the three current mayors may get another term in office but the picture is yet to become clear.

“The north mayor may get another term but the decisions will be taken by the BJP only after Holi festivities are over,” said a BJP leader. The standing committee of all three corporations will also be re-elected and with Vijay Goel becoming the head of Delhi BJP, party workers are expecting his followers to get key positions.

According to provisions under Sub-Section (1) of Section 35 of the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957, the corporation shall at its first meeting in each year elect one of its members to be the mayor and another member to be the deputy mayor.