Bill introduced in Lok Sabha to bring 6 new IITs, ISM under IIT Act

  • PTI, New Delhi
  • Updated: Jul 19, 2016 19:22 IST
HRD minister Prakash Javadekar speaks in the Lok Sabha in New Delhi on Tuesday. (PTI)

A bill was introduced on Tuesday in the Lok Sabha, which aims at bringing the six new IITs as well as the Indian School of Mines (ISM), Dhanbad under the ambit of the IIT Act.

HRD minister Prakash Javadekar, who introduced the bill, in the statement of objects and reasons said the government has set up six new IITs as registered societies.

“These institutes need to be brought within the ambit of the aforesaid act for the purpose of declaring them as institutions of national importance,” he said.

The bill also aims at declaring ISM Dhanbad as an institute of national importance, integrate it with the IIT system and it would be called IIT (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad.

The new IITs which the bill intends to incorporate in the system are IIT Tirupati, IIT Palakkad, IIT Goa, IIT Dharwar, IIT Bhilai and IIT Jammu.

Read more | The great Indian IIT dream: Why parents want children to be engineers

Javadekar also introduced The National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research (Amendment) Bill 2016 in the Lok Sabha.

This bill aims at amending the National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research Act of 2007 and proposes the establishment of a NIT in Andhra Pradesh with effect from August 20, 2015 which has has already been set up as registered society.

also read

Enrolment to engineering courses dips over stagnant job market
Show comments