Delhi undergraduate colleges | education | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 21, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Delhi undergraduate colleges

education Updated: May 25, 2011 09:24 IST
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Hans Raj College
Mahatma Hans Raj Marg, Malka Ganj, Delhi, tel.: 011-27667458, 27667747

Hans Raj College, a constituent college of University of Delhi, is a noted institution of the DAV Managing Committee, which claims to be the largest non-government educational organisation in India. After partition of India, the committee decided to start its institutions in India. On July 26, 1948, the college was set up in memory of Mahatma Hans Raj (1882-1938), the founder of DAV College Lahore.

Hans Raj College offers BA (programme), BA (H) economics, BA (H) English BA (H) Hindi, BA (H) history BA (H) Sanskrit, BCom (H), BSc in physical science, BSc in life science, BSc (H) anthropology, BSc (H) botany, BSc (H) chemistry, BSc (H) mathematics, BSc (H), BSc (H) zoology, BSc in applied physical science (computer science), BSc (H) geology, BSc (H) electronics, BSc (H) computer science. It also runs add-on certificate, diploma and advanced diploma courses in German and French

Hindu College
University Enclave, New Delhi 110007, tel: 011-27667184

Hindu College was founded by Krishan Dassji Gurwale in 1899 as a non-elitist and non-sectarian institution to provide nationalist education to Delhi's youth.

Initially, housed in a building in Kinari Bazar, Chandni Chowk, it was affiliated to the Punjab University as Delhi University was yet born

After a crisis in 1902 due to lacking infrastructure, Rai Bahadur Sultan Singh donated a part of his historic Kashmere Gate property (originally of Col. Skinner) to the college. In 1953, the college moved to its present campus in the Delhi University

The college offers BA programme, BA (H) economics, BA (H) English, BA (H) Hindi, BA (H) history, BA (H) music, BA (H) philosophy, BA (H) political science, 39, BA (H) Sanskrit, BA (H) sociology, BCom (H), BSc (H) physical science, BSc (H) botany, BSc (H) chemistry, BSc (H) mathematics, BSc (H) physics, BSc (H) statistics, BSc (H) zoology

Lady Shri Ram College
Lajpat Nagar-IV, New Delhi 110024, 011-26434459, 26460400, 26460434

In 1956, industrialist Shri Ram started Lady Shri Ram College (LSR) in memory of his wife. It was originally housed in a school building in Darya Ganj, central Delhi, with 243 students, nine teachers, four support staff members and three courses of study. It was meant to provide quality higher education to women

Now based in south Delhi, LSR is recognised as a centre of excellence that nurtures intellectual and academic striving, vibrant extracurricular activity, outreach initiatives and civic engagement. It offers the BA programme, BCom (H), BA (H) economics, bachelor's in elementary education, BA (H) English, BA (H) Hindi, BA (H) history, BA (H) journalism, BA (H) mathematics, BA (H) philosophy, BA (H) political science, BA (H) psychology, BA (H) Sanskrit, BA (H) sociology, BSc (H) statistics, plus diploma in conflict transformation and peace building. The availability of add-on courses depends on demand from students

Miranda House
Patel Chest Marg, Delhi 110007, 011-27666201

The then university vice-chancellor, Maurice Gwyer, founded Miranda House in 1948. Lady Edwina Mountbatten laid the foundation stone of the college on March 7 in the same year. A premier residential college for women in Delhi University, it offers the BA programme, BA (H) Bengali, BA (H) economics, BA (H) English, BA (H) geography, BA (H) Hindi, BA (H) history, BA (H) music, BA (H) philosophy, BA (H) political Science, BA (H) Sanskrit, BA (H) sociology, BSc (H) botany, BSc (H) chemistry, BSc (H) maths, BSc (H) physics, BSc (H) zoology, BSc life sciences, BSc applied physical sciences, BElEd

The certificate courses are in tourism, operations research, green chemistry and environment, medical biotechnology, radio jockeying, television patrakarita, television journalism, and bhasha setu (a translation course), foreign languages (French, German, Russian and Spanish)