MP Board Class 10 results: Pass percentage improves by 4% | education$high-school | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MP Board Class 10 results: Pass percentage improves by 4%

education Updated: May 16, 2016 21:15 IST
HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Bhopal
MP board’s high school examination

Education minister Paras Jain felicitating MP board high school examination topper Mukesh Chandel in Bhopal on Monday.(Mujeeb Faruqui/ HT photo)

Nearly 53% of over 1.2 million students who gave the Class 10 state board examination have passed this year, an increase of 4% over last year.

The result of the Madhya Pradesh Board of Secondary Education for Class 10 was declared on Monday by school education minister Paras Jain and minister of state for education Deepak Joshi.

Around 35,000 students from Bhopal and 1,228,703 students from across the state appeared in the examination. The pass percentage was 53.87% this year, 4.08% higher than last year, and the first time in four years the figure was more than 50%.

As was the case in the Class 12 results, the highest pass percentage was recorded in Mandsaur district (71.78%) and the lowest in Bhind (15.15%). State capital Bhopal recorded a pass percentage of 56.46%.

Madhya Pradesh registered the decade’s best pass percentage of 54% in 2011.

Official sources say the reason for the low pass percentages was the strictness observed during invigilation of the board examinations, but experts feel this is due to the deteriorating academic standards in the state’s schools.

State toppers, however, scored exceptionally high. Shajapur district’s Mukesh Chandel and Jabalpur’s Divya Yadav, students of Sahara Public School and Tanya Convent School respectively, secured the top rank with 589 marks out of 600 (98%). As many as six students from Shajapur are in the merit list this year.

As in previous years, girls fared better than boys — the overall pass percentage among girls is 56.33% and 51.78% among boys.


2010: 48.15%

2011: 54.76%

2012: 53.90%

2013: 51.19%

2014: 47.74%

2015: 49.79%

2016: 53.87%


Rank 1 Mukesh Chandel (Shajapur district) and Divya Yadav (Jabalpur): 589 marks

Rank 2 Ramprakash Gupta (Shahdol) and Jitendra Parmar (Shajapur): 588 marks

Rank 3 Anupam Mishra (Panna): 587

Rank 4 Dhirendra Kumar Soni (Panna), Pratyush Mishra (Umariya) and Swati Sharma (Khandwa): 586

Rank 5 Ajit Singh (Rewa), Ishwar (Shajapur), Aman Carpentar (Rajgarh), Vivek Kumar (Raisen), Seema (Narsinghpur): 585