Olympiad winning students, teachers and principals honoured

  • HT Education Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Jun 08, 2015 17:43 IST

The Science Olympiad Foundation recently organised a felicitation function at Chinmaya Mission Auditorium to recognise and award international winning students, teachers and principals of the Olympiad exams held during the academic year 2014-15. Justice Deepak Verma, former judge, Supreme Court of India presided over the function as the chief guest. During the course of the function, the top three international rank holders were awarded. About 40 lakh students, representing 31,500 schools from 1,400 cities across India and 19 countries had participated in the Olympiad exams during 2014-15.

In this Olympiad, students from Delhi emerged with flying colours. Eighteen students from the capital featured among the international rankers.

Among the Rank 1 awardees from the capital who received cash prizes worth Rs. 50,000 were Sayan Chaudhry, a Class 10 student from Delhi Public School (Cyber Olympiad), Vaibhav Gupta, a Class 6 student from Darbari Lal Dav Model School (Science Olympiad), Ishaan Rawat, a Class 10 student from Somerville School (also Science Olympiad), Class 6 student Aanya Khurana from The Mother’s International School (Mathematics Olympiad), Class 9 student Gauri Lekshmi, also from the Mother’s International School (English Olympiad) and Natasha Singh from Sanskriti School (in English Olympiad).

The Rank 2 awardees to receive cash prizes worth Rs. 25,000 (in the Science Olympiad) included Class 2 student Zayaan Ahmed from Happy School, Class 4 student Ayushi Agrawal from Bal Bharati Public School and Class 8 student Varnit Jain from GD Goenka Public School. In the Mathematics Olympiad Arman from SD Public School, Pratyush Agarwal from Delhi Public School and Rajas Bansal from Sanskriti School bagged the honours.

also read

CAT admit cards to be available from October 24
Show comments