Ten new scholarships for PhD candidates | education | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ten new scholarships for PhD candidates

education Updated: Jul 06, 2011 10:39 IST

Ten top scholars from India will be awarded A$90,000 each to study for their PhDs at one of Victoria's nine universities, starting in 2012. The awards will be given under the new Victoria India Doctoral Scholarships Programme launched recently by the State Government of Victoria and the Australia India Institute.

The new scholarships programme is one of a number of strategic engagement opportunities created by the Victorian Government to strengthen its relations with India.
Victoria's nine universities have all agreed to provide a full tuition waiver. The ten new scholarships, providing A$90,000 over the duration of doctoral studies for each PhD scholar, will support living costs and education-related travel.

Australian High Commissioner Peter Varghese AO and Amitabh Mattoo, director of the Australia India Institute, Melbourne, launched the scholarships at Australia's high commission in New Delhi, together with Victoria's commissioner to India, Geoffrey Conaghan.

Students from India can apply for PhD programmes at Victoria's:
Deakin University
La Trobe University
Monash University
RMIT University
Swinburne University
The Australian Catholic University
The University of Melbourne
University of Ballarat
Victoria University

Each of these universities can offer doctoral opportunities across science, engineering, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business studies, education and the arts.

More details are available at www.studymelbourne.vic.gov.au/scholarships, or in Hindi at www.studymelbourne.vic.gov.au/hindi/scholarships

Details of the Victorian Government's Trade Engagement Programme with India can be found at www.trade.vic.gov.au