Union cabinet approves six new IITs | education$higher-studies | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Union cabinet approves six new IITs

education Updated: May 25, 2016 19:15 IST
IANS, New Delhi

A file photo of Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur. (PTI photo)

The Union cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday gave ex-post facto approval to a law on setting up six new Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) in the country.

The approval to the amendment to The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961, will also facilitate conversion of the Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad, to an IIT.

The new IITs will come up at Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh, Palakkad in Kerala, Dharwar in Karnataka, Bhilai in Chhattisgarh, Goa and in Jammu district in Jammu and Kashmir.

“The approval will bring the six new IITs and the ISM within the ambit of the Act of 1961 and declare them as institutions of national importance,” a government statement said.

Read more: The great Indian IIT dream: Why parents want children to be engineers