HindustanTimes Sun,21 Dec 2014

At Modi's swearing-in, Varanasi to have a presence

Pawan Dixit, Hindustan Times  Varanasi, May 24, 2014
First Published: 17:50 IST(24/5/2014) | Last Updated: 19:34 IST(24/5/2014)

When Narendra Modi is sworn in as Prime Minister on Monday, Kashi will have a significant representation at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Besides high-profile guests from all SAARC nations, Modi's four proposers from the time of his nomination-filing in Varanasi will attend the swearing-in ceremony in New Delhi.

Modi's proposers were retired Allahabad high court judge, Justice Giridhar Malaviya, who is the grandson of BHU founder Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya; Padma Bhushan awardee and renowned classical singer Chhannulal Mishra; boatman Virbhadra Nishad and weaver Ashok. Justice Malaviya (retd) has already reached New Delhi.

The list of invitees also includes 20 senior BJP leaders from Varanasi, including MLAs Shyamdeo Roy Chowdhury, Ravindra Jaiswal and Jyotsana Srivastava.

Mayor Ram Gopal Mohle, MLC (teachers' constituency) Chet Narayan Singh, MLA (graduate constituency) Kedarnath Singh and Modi's election in-charge Ashok Dhawan also figure in the list of guests from Varanasi.

BJP leaders Ajay Singh, Radhey Mohan Tripathi, Dr Bechan Jaiswal and Sanjay Rai – all associated with Modi's election committee – have also been invited.

The swearing-in will also have RSS functionaries attached with the BJP in Varanasi – regional party president Lakshman Acharya and regional secretary Chandra Shekhar.

Former and present district presidents of the party have also made it to the prestigious list of Modi's guests.

City BJP president TS Joshi, district party president Azad Singh Gautam as well as former office-bearers Harshpal Kapoor, Prem Kapoor, Kailash Keshari, Rakesh Singh and Ram Prakash Dubey are among the 24 guests invited from Varanasi.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved