HindustanTimes Mon,28 Jul 2014

PDP hopes Modi govt will be 'politically inclusive'

Congratulating Narendra Modi for his party's landslide victory in Lok Sabha polls, Peoples Democratic Party patriarch Mufti Mohammad Sayeed on Sunday said he was hopeful the new BJP government would take tangible steps in finding a lasting solution to the Kashmir problem.

The new Lok Sabha: facts and figures

The complexion of the 16th Lok Sabha, borne out of the most decisive mandate in 30 years, looks like a mixed bag of milestones. First up, the lower house will have the highest number of women lawmakers. On most other counts of demography, it still needs to shape up.

TDP may join BJP-led NDA govt this time

The TDP, which provided outside support to the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government, would like to join the Narendra Modi government this time.

BJP ready for fresh polls in Delhi, says Harsh Vardhan

With three sitting MLAs of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerging victorious in the Lok Sabha elections, the spotlight has shifted to the Delhi assembly. BJP had fielded its state unit president Harsh Vardhan from Chandni Chowk, and legislators Ramesh Bidhuri from south Delhi and Pravesh Verma from west Delhi.

After Bihar, Uttarakhand and Jharkhand govts may crumble

Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar’s resignation Saturday following his party’s poor show in the national election has the Uttarakhand and Jharkhand governments worried.

Ramadoss hopes for a place in Modi’s govt

The two NDA candidates to win from Tamil Nadu — BJP state unit chief Pon Radhakrishnan and PMK’s Anbumani Ramadoss — automatically get chosen to represent Tamil Nadu in the Union council of ministers in the Modi-led NDA government.

Negative campaign, undue focus on Varanasi causes of AAP's poll debacle

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has admitted that it ran a negative campaign in the run up to the Lok Sabha elections and gave undue focus on Varanasi at the cost of other constituencies.

Rahul's 'advisers' face heat as Cong searches for answers

As Congress searches for answersfor its worst-ever electoral performance, daggers are already out in the party ahead of the crucial Congress Working Committee (CWC) meeting scheduled on Monday.

Narendra Modi showstopper in Delhi today

Narendra Modi will reach BJP headquarter here on Saturday morning after an elaborate two-hour long victory procession that will start from the airport itself, sources told HT.

How Narendra Modi changed rules of the game

This election will be memorable for the manner in which the BJP fought it: it projected Narendra Modi as a single leader. HT editor-in-chief Sanjoy Narayan writes.

Congress decimated, may not even be main opposition party

In the face of the Congress’ worst electoral defeat in more than six decades, party vice-president and the party’s face for the 2014 polls Rahul Gandhi owned up responsibility for the debacle before the media, saying there was “a lot for us to think about”.

Elections 2014 underscore steep political decline of the Gandhi family

Verdict 2014 belonged as much to the abysmal showing of the Congress as it did to Narendra Modi. In particular, it underscored the steep political decline of the Gandhi family.

Only Gandhis, Yadavs survive Modi tsunami in UP

Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) failed to win even a single seat. It stood second in 34 constituencies. Congress president Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli) and her son Rahul Gandhi (Amethi) were the only Congress candidates who could register victories.

18% vote share: BJP lotus blooms in TMC’s Bengal

From being a marginal player, BJP storms into West Bengal at the cost of Left Front that had ruled for 34 years.

If India voted for stable govt, I respect that: Javed Akhtar

"Once Narendra Modi is the PM and he goes out anywhere, he will be representing all of us. As the prime minister of the country, he ceases to be just a member of a political party; he becomes the representative of the whole nation. And one has to accept and respect that," the film writer, poet, and lyricist tells HT.
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved