HindustanTimes Fri,28 Aug 2015

Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi left in the cold for now

Bharatiya Janata Party veterans LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi — party’s faces since Ayodhya days — may have to wait for a while to get a ‘suitable’ accommodation.

Poll shift: 2 YSR Congress MPs join TDP

The YSR Congress managed just eight Lok Sabha seats out of 25 in Seemandhra, while the TDP-BJP combine bagged 17. The TDP also came to power in the state with Naidu on his way to be its first chief minister.

BJP leaders meet Narendra Modi, Rajnath Singh

Several senior BJP leaders on Saturday met prime minister-elect Narendra Modi and party chief Rajnath Singh amid hectic preparations ahead of the new NDA government taking charge on Monday.

Defamation case: Bailable warrant against Ilmi

A Delhi Court on Saturday issued a bailable warrant against Aam Aadmi Party leader Shazia Ilmi for her non-appearance in a criminal defamation complaint filed against her, party chief Arvind Kejriwal and others by outgoing Telecom minister Kapil Sibal's son Amit Sibal.

Congress under attack: NCP demands more seats

Rumblings within the Congress over its disastrous showing in Elections 2014 came out in the open with the NCP leader Sharad Pawar blaming the Congress for his party’s dismal performance in Maharashtra.

Mamata Banerjee decides to skip Modi swearing-in

Ending the suspense, West Bengal chief minister and Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee on Friday decided to send state finance minister Amit Mitra and party general secretary Mukul Roy to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as Prime Minister on May 26.

Backing JD(U) to thwart BJP, says Lalu, keeps mum on future

RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav on Thursday said his party's "unconditional support" to the JD(U) government in Bihar is aimed at foiling BJP's "design" to capture power in the state, but evaded questions on future possibilities with Nitish Kumar's party.

RJD extends support to Manjhi's JD(U) govt in Bihar

Opposition RJD on Thursday announced support to the new JD(U) government in Bihar headed by Jitan Ram Manjhi. The announcement was made by RJD legislature party leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui in Patna and has come as a boost for the new ministry ahead of the trust vote on Friday.

We'll set things on fire if welfare is hindered: Rahul

Rahul Gandhi, along with his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, arrived in Amethi on Wednesday to pay a visit to Pure-Nidhanpur Baraulia village where 67 thatched houses had been burnt in a fire on Monday.

Chamling sworn in as Sikkim CM for record fifth time

Pawan Chamling was on Wednesday sworn in as Sikkim chief minister for the record fifth consecutive time. Governor Shriniwas Patil administered the oath of office to Chamling and 11 ministers at a function in Raj Bhawan.

Modi to resign as Gujarat CM today, Anandiben to succeed him

Prime minister-designate Narendra Modi will resign on Wednesday afternoon from the post of Gujarat's chief minister. Anandiben Patel, will replace him as the state's chief minister after the BJP legislature party meeting at 4pm.

Narendra Modi gets grand welcome at Ahmedabad airport

A grand welcome was given to Narendra Modi and his aide Amit Shah when they arrived in Ahmedabad at the city airport after the President appointed him as the Prime Minister of the country.

3 AIADMK ministers take oath of office

In a Cabinet reshuffle, three AIADMK ministers on Tuesday took oath of office at the Raj Bhavan in Chennai.

Jitan Ram Manjhi sworn in as Bihar's 23rd CM

Jitan Ram Manjhi, 68, was sworn in as the 23rd CM of Bihar along with 17 ministers on Tuesday. Fifteen JD(U) ministers from the Nitish Kumar-led ministry and two independents supporting the govt were also sworn in.

Naveen presents letter to Odisha guv to form next govt

A day after being elected as the leader of BJD legislature party by the newly elected MLAs, Odisha chief minister and Biju Janata Dal president Naveen Patnaik on Monday met governor SC Jamir at the governor’s house here to stake claims to form the next government in the state.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 |