HindustanTimes Sat,20 Dec 2014

Naveen Patnaik elected BJD legislature party leader

Priya Ranjan Sahu , Hindustan Times  Bhubaneswar, May 19, 2014
First Published: 01:04 IST(19/5/2014) | Last Updated: 23:25 IST(19/5/2014)

Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik, who led the Biju Janata Dal to its fourth successive victory in Lok Sabha and assembly elections, was on Sunday unanimously elected as leader of BJD legislative party by the newly elected MLAs.


Patnaik’s name was proposed by 10-time MLA V Sugnana Kumari Deo and seconded by party vice president Damodar Rout at a meeting of the newly elected MLAs at BJD’s headquarters here.

“We will all work together with renewed efforts for the development and welfare of the people of our state,” Patnaik, Odisha’s chief minister for the past 14 years, said after being elected.

Despite the Modi wave across the country, Patnaik led the BJD to a spectacular fourth straight victory in the state assembly and Lok Sabha polls held last month – the party’s best ever performance.

In an assembly of 147, the BJD won 117 seats, while Congress bagged 15 and BJP 10 seats. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) and Samata Kranti Dal got one seat each, while two seats went to Independents.

In the Lok Sabha too, the ruling party bagged 20 out of total 21 seats. BJP got one while Congress drew a blank for the first time.

In 2009 elections, BJD had got 103 assembly seats while Congress and BJP had bagged 27 and six seats respectively.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved