Haryana CM gives nod to draft development plan for four towns | gurgaon | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Haryana CM gives nod to draft development plan for four towns

gurgaon Updated: Jun 27, 2012 02:41 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Haryana chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda on Tuesday approved the Draft Development Plan 2031 of four towns of Kurukshetra, Farukhnagar, Sohna and Rohtak so as to ensure their future development in a planned manner.

A decision to this effect was taken in a meeting of the state-level committee of Town and Country Planning Department held under the chairmanship of the chief minister in Chandigarh.

The chief minister also directed the officers to identify land for developing an airstrip at Kurukshetra so as to boost tourism.

“The holy town would attract more people across the world after coming up of Balaji temple there,” the chief minister said.

Hooda also directed to earmark two sectors in these towns which would be exclusively developed by Haryana Urban Development Authority.

Each sector would be developed over an area of 250 to 300 acres of land, he added.

The plan for Kurukshetra has been prepared for the projected population of 7.46 lakh by 2031. Under the plan, about 36.28 % area would be developed for residential purposes and 9.26% for industry.

The plan of Farukhnagar has been prepared for the projected population of 1.10 lakh. In Sohna, an area of 6,110 hectares would be developed with residential density of 300 persons per hectare.

The Sohna plan has been prepared for a projected population of six lakh.

According to the draft plan, the government proposes to develop of 13,364.06 acres in Rohtak.

The city’s projected population in 2013 is 13 lakh.

About 28.81% of total area would be developed as residential while 14.84% areas would be earmarked for industry.

Minister of state for urban local bodies Gopal Kanda, chief parliamentary secretary Rao Dan Singh, principal secretary to chief minister, Chhatar Singh, deputy principal secretary to chief minister RS Doon, additional chief secretary Raj Kumar, financial commissioners and principal secretaries SS Dhillon, KK Jalan, Ramendra Jakhu and others were also present on the occasion.