Sher-e-Punjab enter WSH final

  • PTI, Bangalore
  • |
  • Updated: Apr 01, 2012 23:42 IST

Sher-e-Punjab thrashed hosts Karnataka Lions 4-1 to sail into the final of the inaugural World Series Hockey here on Sunday.

Australian Matthew Hotchkis (17th), Karamjit Singh (39th), Harpreet Singh and captain Prabhjot Singh (68th) were the goal scorers for the Punjab side, while Naveen Kumar (11th) scored the lone goal for the hosts. Punjab will now travel to Mumbai to play the final against Pune Strykers on Monday.

The scoreline could have 5-1 in favour of Punjab had Hotchkis not missed a penalty stroke in the third quarter which was brilliantly saved by a diving Karnataka custodian Devesh Chauhan. Though Karnataka went ahead first, their joy was short lived.


also read

Cash awards for hockey players Raghunath, Sreejesh and Ramandeep

blog comments powered by Disqus