Fanning, Cattrall and Wilde join Tribeca jury, Bieber honored | hollywood | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Fanning, Cattrall and Wilde join Tribeca jury, Bieber honored

hollywood Updated: Apr 18, 2012 17:39 IST
Highlight Story


Among the jurors announced Monday for the Tribeca Film Festival, April 18-29, are a group of young award-winning actors, including Shailene Woodley (The Descendants), Gabourey Sidibe (Precious), Dakota Fanning (The Twilight Saga), Olivia Wilde (Tron: Legacy) and rapper K'naan.

Also, veterans of Hollywood hits and indie films join the six juries for categories in the competition part of the event, such as Kim Cattrall (Sex and the City), Susan Sarandon and Whoopi Goldberg, directors Michael Moore (Fahrenheit 9/11), Jim Sheridan (Brothers) and Brett Ratner (Rush Hour), and producer Irwin Winkler (Goodfellas).

Actors and directors, critics and musicians will scrutinize the films in categories including the World Narrative and the World Documentary. Members of the jury will also include representatives of Google Ideas, Vogue Italia editor Bethann Hardison and television host Sal Masekela.

Among the awards presented, TFF will surprisingly pay tribute to teen pop star Justin Bieber and his manager with a 2012 Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award, for his impact on business, technology, arts and entertainment.

Other celebrities expected to attend include James Franco, Chris Rock, Tony Bennett and Oscar nominee Kristen Wiig (Bridesmaids).

Despite the emphasis on independent films, the festival tries to strike a balance with Hollywood films. The opening night film is the romantic-comedy, The Five-Year Engagement starring Jason Segel and Emily Blunt.

Several films will also be streamed on the internet in the US in an effort to take the festival out of the city to other locations.

The Tribeca Film Festival now in its 11th edition in downtown New York City was co-founded by Robert De Niro. Tickets went on sale to the public Monday for Wednesday’s opening.