Marvel scraps plans to break Avengers: Infinity War into 2 movies

  • IANS, Los Angeles
  • Updated: Jul 30, 2016 15:52 IST
Avengers: Infinity War is set to be released in US theatres on May 4, 2018.

Marvel has confirmed that the third Avengers movie, which was previously divided into two parts, is now called Avengers: Infinity War.

Meanwhile, the fourth instalment of The Avengers film series is temporarily known as Untitled Avengers, reports

Back in May, directors Joe and Anthony Russo said that they were no longer calling the Marvel movies Part I and Part II.

Read: Avengers Infinity War won’t be called Avengers Infinity War: Directors

Plot and cast details are being kept under wraps. However, it has been confirmed that Robert Downey Jr., Chris Pratt, Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth and Elizabeth Olsen are set to star in Avengers: Infinity War, which the Russos will direct from a screenplay written by Captain America writers Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely.

Read Captain America Civil War review: Watch and learn, Batman v Superman

The Infinity War title comes from a classic 1992 comic book series in which the heroes of the Marvel Universe are brought together to fight sinister doppelgangers of themselves. The evil doppelgangers are created by a cosmic entity called the Magus, the evil side of Adam Warlock who wants control of the Infinity Gauntlet.

Avengers: Infinity War is set to be released in US theatres on May 4, 2018, while the fourth instalment of the film series will come out on May 3, 2019.

Follow @htshowbiz for more

also read

Kristen Stewart finally makes her romance with St Vincent (Annie Clark) public
Show comments