HindustanTimes Fri,26 Dec 2014

Lok Sabha polls 2014: Key constituencies

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, March 13, 2014
First Published: 22:08 IST(13/3/2014) | Last Updated: 09:46 IST(14/3/2014)

The electoral battle line-ups have been drawn in many key constituencies across the country.

Ending suspense, Congress has fielded former railway minister and sitting MP Pawan Kumar Bansal from Chandigarh, while actor and former miss India Gul Panag is AAP's choice for the seat.

Union minister M Veerappa Moily is pitted against BJP's BN Bachhegouda Chikkballapur in Karnataka.  K Arkesh, a former DIG with CRPF is AAP's candidate from this seat.

In another interesting fight, former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa is pitted against educationist Manjunath Bhandary of the Congress from Shimoga in Karnataka. Aam Aadmi Party has fielded Sridhara Kallahalla, an architect from the Yeddyuruppa's bastion.

Shashi Thaoor will take on CPI novice Bennet P Abraham in Thiruvananthapuram seat in Kerala, where former minister and veteran leader O Rajagopal will be contesting on BJP ticket.
Abraham, a former member of the Public Service Commission (PSC), is a prominent member of the Church of South India (CSI), which has a sizable population in the constituency. Aam Aadmi Party has fielded former IPS officer Ajit Joy from the constituency.

In Ernakulam, union minister KV Thomas is pitted against former secretary to former President Pratibha Patil, Christy Fernandez, an independent candidate backed by the Left parties. Media personality Anita Pratap is the AAP candidate from the seat. 

The BJP nominated Poonam Mahajan from Mumbai north-central against Congress's Priya Dutt. AAP is yet to declare its candidate from the seat. Son of former finance minister Yashwant Sinha, Jayant Singh has been nominated from Hazaribagh against the Congress candidate Subhash Narayan Singh.

In Indore, BJP renominated it veteran leader Sumitra Mahajan who would face Congress' Satyanarayan Patel. The AAP candidate is Anil Trivedi, a lawyer in Indore High Court.

The BJP has fielded former Shoba Karandlaje, a close aide of former Karnataka chief minister from Udipi- Chikmangalur, a seat from where the Congress has nominated Jaiprakash Hedge, a former state government minister.

more from India

Anti-Sikh riots of 1984 were genocide, says Rajnath Singh

Describing the anti-Sikh riots of 1984 as a "genocide", Union home minister Rajnath Singh on Friday said several persons who had a "role" in the carnage are yet to be punished.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved