HindustanTimes Sat,20 Dec 2014

3 new ministers sworn in Kerala

PTI  Thiruvananthapuram, August 17, 2009
First Published: 16:07 IST(17/8/2009) | Last Updated: 17:09 IST(17/8/2009)

In an expansion and reshuffle exercise, three members, including Kerala Congress (J) leader PJ Joseph, who had been cleared of the charge of misbehaviour towards a woman on a flight three years ago, were on Monday inducted into the LDF ministry in the state.


Besides Joseph, Congress (S) nominee Ramachandran Kadannappally and JDS (Deve Gowda faction)'s Jose Thettayil were sworn in as members of the VS Achuthanandan ministry by Governor R S Gavai.

Joseph and Thettayil replace their respective party nominees Mons Joseph and Mathew T Thomas in the cabinet.

Mons Joseph had resigned as PWD minister yesterday to make way for P J Joseph, who is the KC(J) Chairman.

Thettayil comes in place of Mathew T Thomas, who had resigned in the wake of dispute between JDS and CPI(M) over allotment of Kozhikode Lok Sabha seat to JDS in the polls.

The LDF decided to give ministerial berth to splinter faction of JDS, loyal to National President Deve Gowda, after the state-unit led by M P Veerendrakumar snapped ties with the alliance and joined hands with the UDF after the last Lok Sabha polls.

Congress (S) is being accommodated for the first time in the LDF ministry, whose strength has now risen to 20.

Achuthanandan and his cabinet colleagues attended the ceremony at Raj Bhavan.

more from India

2014 vote was communal: Harish Khare

Harish Khare's new book, ‘How Modi Won It: Notes From the 2014 Election’, is a masterful personal account, laced with diary notes from the months leading up to elections, and insightful analysis of where the Congress slipped and Modi succeeded.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved