5 IITs to appoint new directors, Pranab Mukherjee clears proposal | india-news | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

5 IITs to appoint new directors, Pranab Mukherjee clears proposal

india Updated: Jan 07, 2017 23:48 IST
HT Correspondent

President of India, Pranab Mukherjee, addressing the nation on the eve of Independence Day.(AFP File Photo)

President Pranab Mukherjee has approved a proposal from the ministry of human resource development (HRD) appointing directors to five IITs of Tirupati, Palakkad, Bhilai-Durg, Goa and Dharwad on Saturday.

Officials said the tenure for the five directors is five years. The director of an IIT is the academic as well as administrative head of the institution. There are 23 IITs in the country.

Professor KN Satyanarayana has been appointed as director of IIT Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh, professor PB Sunil Kumar director of IIT Palakkad, Kerala, professor Rajat Moona director of IIT Bhilai-Durg, and professor BK Mishra director of IIT Goa. For IIT Dharwad in Karnataka, professor Seshu Pasumarthy has been approved as director, it is learnt.

Earlier, a search-cum-selection committee appointed by the Prakash Javadekar-led HRD ministry had recommended these names after holding interviews of several distinguished people with an outstanding academic record and the experience.

Following the interviews, the ministry had forwarded the names to the President.