HindustanTimes Sun,21 Sep 2014

58 to 62% voting in Kharsawan by-election, polling passes-off peaceful

Madan Kumar, Hindustan Times  Jamshedpur, February 10, 2011
First Published: 17:23 IST(10/2/2011) | Last Updated: 17:24 IST(10/2/2011)

Polling in Jharkhand’s Kharsawan (ST) assembly constituency passed-off peacefully on Thursday amidst tight security arrangements. Voting came to end at 3 pm this afternoon. As per initial reports, around 58 to 62 per cent turnout of voters was reported from various parts of the constituency.


“We are still compiling the data collected from various booths. It is difficult to say actual figure about the voters’ turnout at this moment,” said the district public relations officer. He said, no unpleasant incidents were reported from any parts of the constituency during the polling.

The result of Kharsawan by-election will decide political fate of Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda. Counting of votes would begin in the morning of February 17.

The by election for the seat was necessitated after BJP MLA Mangal Singh Soy resigned on November 30 to pave way for the chief minister to contest from the seat.

Munda has represented Kharsawan seat thrice in 1995, 2000 and 2005 and enjoys a massive support base in the constituency. In 2009, Munda got elected for the Lok Sabha from Jamshedpur seat and in his place the party fielded Mangal Singh Soy, who won the assembly polls in 2010 by a huge margin with the blessings of Munda. When Munda became chief minister in September last and was looking for a seat to enter the state assembly, Soy resigned on November 30 to pave way for his mentor.

more from India

Kite Festival: Indian spectacle in french skies

The blue-green Atlantic sea, flanked by sheer white cliffs on one side and a port on the other, made a beautiful setting for Le Festival International de Cerf-Volant de Dieppe, or the International Dieppe Kite Festival. India was the country of honour this year along with Indonesia, another kite flying country.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved