7 MCs go to polls on June 2 in Haryana

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • |
  • Updated: May 09, 2013 21:58 IST

The elections to seven municipal corporations of Ambala, Panchkula, Karnal, Panipat, Hisar, Rohtak and Yamunanagar will be held on June 2, Haryana state election commissioner Dharam Vir said on Thursday.

Besides, the elections to the Kalanaur (Rohtak) and Farukhnagar (Gurgaon) municipal committees, and byelections to ward number 3 of the Narwana (Jind) municipal council and ward number 7 of the Gharaunda (Karnal) municipal committee would be held on June 2, Vir told the media, adding that the model code of conduct had come into force with the announcement.

“No official involved in the election work will be transferred till the polls are held,” he said.

A returning officer will issue a notice for inviting nominations on May 10. The nomination papers should be filed between May 16 and 21. The nominations papers will be scrutinised on May 22 and the last date for the withdrawal of nomination is May 23. Candidates will be allotted symbols on May 23, while the final list of contesting candidates and polling stations will be declared the same day.

The elections will be held between 8 am and 5 pm with electronic voting machines (EVMs). The votes polled in the municipal committee elections will be counted on June 2 from 8 am while the votes polled in the municipal corporations will be counted on June 4, the state election commissioner said.

The electoral rolls of the municipal corporations were published on April 5 and uploaded on the websites of state election commission and the district administration concerned. Any person can check his or her name on the website of the commission, Vir added. 


also read

Communal violence increased in first half of 2015: Home Ministry

blog comments powered by Disqus