HindustanTimes Thu,25 Dec 2014

Andhra Assembly adjourned over bifurcation issue

PTI  Hyderabad, January 06, 2014
First Published: 12:53 IST(6/1/2014) | Last Updated: 13:03 IST(6/1/2014)

Vociferously opposing the proposed bifurcation of the state, legislators from Telugu Desam and YSR Congress parties paralysed the proceedings in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly on Monday.


Speaker Nadendla Manohar had to adjourn the House within five minutes after the day's proceedings started at 9am, as the TDP and the YSRC MLAs trooped into the well, shouting slogans in support of united Andhra Pradesh.

"It's becoming difficult for the chair to enable functioning of the House. I request all the floor leaders to ask their members to return to their seats. We have to let the House function," the Speaker appealed.

Manohar rejected the two adjournment motions moved by TDP and YSRC on the bifurcation issue and asked the members to let the House take up debate on the draft Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill-2013, referred by the President.

"All these issues could be raised during the debate," he said. "We should now let the House run as it has been repeatedly adjourned all these days," the Speaker said, but the agitating members remained unrelenting.

The Speaker then adjourned the House, saying he would convene a meeting of the Business Advisory Committee at 10am in order to break the deadlock.

The winter session of the AP Assembly resumed on January 3 after a two-week break, mainly to debate the draft bill, but it barely functioned for 15 minutes on the January 3 and 4 as TDP and YSRC remained firm on the demand that the bill be withdrawn.

The YSRC also wants a resolution to be passed by the House in favour of united Andhra Pradesh.

more from India

Cong backs Sayeed to lead new government in JK

As the deadlock over government formation in Jammu and Kashmir continued, the state unit of Congress on Thursday backed PDP patron Mufti Mohammad Sayeed to lead the new dispensation to respect the people's verdict in the just-concluded Assembly elections.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved