Bhavsar, Shenoy bag Aryabhatta Award

  • Press Trust of India, PTI, Bangalore
  • |
  • Updated: Feb 11, 2003 20:17 IST
Eminent scientists Prof PD Bhavsar and Dr RP Shenoy have bagged the prestigious Aryabhatta award of the Astronomical Society of India for 1999 and 2000 respectively.

The award, given for outstanding life-time contribution to the promotion of astronomy in India. Consists of a citation and Rs one lakh in cash, said a release from the Society, which also announced various other awards for the year 1999 and 2000.

Prof Bhavsar is former Director of Ahmedabad-based Space Applications Centre (SAC), and Dr Shenoy, former Director of Electronics and Radar Development Establishment (LRDE) here.


also read

Sheena murder case: First ‘husband’ denies marrying Indrani

blog comments powered by Disqus