HindustanTimes Sat,27 Dec 2014

BJP Govt wins trust vote in Karnataka

BR Srikanth, Hindustan Times  Bangalore, June 07, 2008
First Published: 01:17 IST(7/6/2008) | Last Updated: 01:22 IST(7/6/2008)

Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa heaved a sigh of relief as his one-week old government won the vote of confidence in the legislative assembly on Friday.


The one-line motion of confidence was approved by voice vote by BJP legislators and six independents after Opposition Congress members trooped out of the assembly at the end of a two hour debate.

Congress legislators walked out to protest the government’s failure to announce a tax rebate on petroleum products and to address shortage of seeds and fertilisers across the state.

In November 2007, Yeddyurappa quit midway during a discussion on a similar motion of confidence moved by him, sensing that Janata Dal (S) legislators would not keep their word of supporting his government.

In the 225-member house, the ruling BJP has 110 members, followed by 80 of Congress, 28 Dal (S) legislators, and six independents. While all independents have extended support to the government, five of them have been accommodated in the cabinet.

“No where in the country has any government inducted five independents into the cabinet. You do not have the mandate

of people and you are shaky from the beginning,” Leader of Opposition M. Mallikarjun Kharge said.


more from India

Kerala: VHP to carry on with 'ghar-wapsi' drive

Announcing plans to continue with their 'ghar-wapsi' programme in Kerala, Vishwa Hindu Parishad asserted Saturday that no forcible conversions were taking place in the state and said it would help those who wanted to embrace Hinduism.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved