HindustanTimes Mon,22 Dec 2014

BJP chief Amit Shah announces new team, Varun Gandhi dropped as general secretary

HT Corresponcent, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, August 16, 2014
First Published: 13:01 IST(16/8/2014) | Last Updated: 19:32 IST(16/8/2014)

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah on Saturday announced his new team with 11 vice-presidents and eight general secretaries and 14 secretaries.

Shah, who took over as the BJP president in July, has tried to keep his team members young and inducted those who are have experience too.

Former Karnataka chief minister BS Yeddyurappa and former Mumbai police commissioner Satyapal Malik found a place in the team as the party's vice-presidents.

Apart from Yeddyurappa and Malik, the new vice-presidents are Bandaru Dattatreya, MA Naqvi, P Ruppala, Prabhat Jha, Raghuvar Das, Kiran Maheswari, Renu Devi and Dinesh Sharma.

While Sultanpur MP Varun Gandhi was dropped as general secretary, Rajya Sabha MP from Rajasthan Bhupendra Yadav was brought in as new general secretary.

Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh leader Ram Madhav and former MP Saroj Pandey too were made general secretary of the saffron party.

Shah retained JP Nadda, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Murlidhar Rao and Ramlal as general secretaries and has named 10 new spokespersons.

Anurag Thakur will continue as BJYM chief while the BJP Mahila Morcha chief will be Vijaya Rahatkar.

Abdul Rashid Ansari is BJP's Minority Morcha chief.

"Team formed by Amit bhai is excellent, full of youth and experience. We will work with enthusiasm," senior party leader Shahnawaz Hussain was quoted as saying by ANI.

more from India

Ensure child rights in new constitution, Satyarthi requests Nepal

Kailash Satyarthi requested Nepal's lawmakers to include child rights in the country's new constitution. He stated the new constitution should be child-friendly and should incorporate universal values like love, freedom and equality.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved