HindustanTimes Fri,19 Dec 2014

BJP scrambles to solve crisis, says no change of leadership

PTI  Bangalore, June 30, 2012
First Published: 11:03 IST(30/6/2012) | Last Updated: 17:04 IST(30/6/2012)

Karnataka BJP leaders on Saturday said that there would be no change in leadership in the state and said that the resignations of eight ministers who are pushing for chief minister DV Sadananda Gowda replacement with their nominee Jagadish Shettar will not be accepted.


"There is no question of accepting the resignation of the ministers," state BJP President KS Eshwarappa told reporters after meeting Gowda in Bangalore.

Eshwarappa said he is confident that Gowda and "friends" supporting Shettar would abide by any decision of the party's central leadership.

Minister for labour and sericulture, BN Bache Gowda, also met Sadananda Gowda and later told reporters there is no question of change of leadership.

"There is no question of leadership change. He will continue as chief minister," Bache Gowda asserted.

Meanwhile, BJP's in-charge of Karnataka affairs Dharmendra Pradhan is arriving in the state capital on Saturday seeking to resolve the crisis facing the government.

The ministers who quit are Shettar, Basawaraj Bommai, V Somanna, Renukacharya, CM Udasi, Murugesh NIrani, Umesh Katti and Revu Nayak Belamagi.

The chief minister met governor HR Bhardwaj at the Raj Bhavan to apprise him of the political situation.

"I came to meet the governor to have discussion on the Budget session. The Financial Bill has to be passed. I came to get a date finalised. We also discussed the present political scenario, where I refused resignations from the ministers. Dharmendra Pradhan will be coming to Bangalore this afternoon... The matter will be discussed then," he told reporters.

more from India

5.2 intensity earthquake shakes Bihar, Nepal

An earthquake of 5.2 intensity on the richter scale shook Patna and other parts of Bihar on Thursday night, triggering panic among people. The epicentre of the earthquake was in Nepal and contiguous areas in Bihar.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved