HindustanTimes Thu,17 Apr 2014

Bypoll results mirror LS verdict

HT Correspondents, Hindustan Times  Lucknow/Chennai, August 22, 2009
First Published: 01:10 IST(22/8/2009) | Last Updated: 01:11 IST(22/8/2009)
The results of the August 18 bypolls have reinforced the Lok Sabha elections verdict. Uttar Pradesh, where the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), bounced back to reverse its losses, was an exception.


Counting for bypolls in 17 assembly seats — five each in Tamil Nadu and Karnataka, four in UP, two in West Bengal and one in Meghalaya — was held on Friday.

In UP, the BSP won three out of four seats at the expense of the Samajwadi Party and BJP.

With the AIADMK-led opposition boycotting bypolls, the DMK-Congress alliance won all five seats in Tamil Nadu.Of Karnataka’s five seats, the BJP and JD(S) won two each.

In West Bengal the Trinamool Congress won in Bowbazar and Sealdah. In Meghalaya, the Congress wrested Laitumkhrah.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved