HindustanTimes Sat,20 Dec 2014

CBI set to probe Gopinath Munde's death

PTI  New Delhi, June 10, 2014
First Published: 11:24 IST(10/6/2014) | Last Updated: 23:06 IST(10/6/2014)

CBI is all set to take over the probe into the death of former Rural Development Minister Gopinath Munde following a road accident in Delhi.

CBI sources said home ministry has recommended handing over the case to the agency and CBI has given consent to take over the probe.

The matter will now be sent to Department of Personnel and Training, under the Prime Minister's Office, which will issue a formal notification after which CBI will take over the FIR registered by Delhi Police in this connection.

64-year-old Munde, a popular backward class leader from Maharashtra, was on his way to Indira Gandhi Airport on June 3 when his car was hit by another vehicle at Prithviraj road-Tughlak road roundabout in the heart of the capital.

Munde died due to shock and hemorrhage following injuries to his neck and liver after the road accident.

The Delhi Police had registered a case against 32-year old driver Gurvinder Singh whose car hit Munde's vehicle resulting in fatal injuries.

Read: Initial autopsy shows Munde died due to internal injuries

BJP leaders from Maharashtra including former party president Nitin Gadkari had sought a CBI inquiry into the death of Munde.

"It is Maharashtra's public opinion that Munde's death be probed by CBI," said state BJP chief Devendra Fadnavis, who along with Gadkari met Home Minister Rajnath Singh today in this regard.

NCP chief Sharad Pawar had also asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi to initiate a CBI probe into the incident to bring out the "facts" and assuage the feelings of the BJP leader's supporters.

more from India

Modi has to go beyond 'Gujarat champion' identity: Harish Khare

Harish Khare's new book, ‘How Modi Won It: Notes From the 2014 Election’, is a masterful personal account, laced with diary notes from the months leading up to elections, and insightful analysis of where the Congress slipped and Modi succeeded.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved