HindustanTimes Sun,28 Dec 2014

Chhattisgarh Naxal attack: a timeline

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Bastar, May 26, 2013
First Published: 21:46 IST(26/5/2013) | Last Updated: 21:48 IST(26/5/2013)

Here is how the brutal Naxal attack on the actually took place:


** The Congress leadership in the state launched a “Parivartan Rally” to counter the Raman Singh-led BJP government’s Vikas Yatra from Sarguja (far north) on April 12 and it was supposed to conclude on May 27 at Pakhanjore in Bastar (far south of the state), ahead of the October state elections.

** The Congress leaders, including the PCC chief Nandkumar Patel; former union minister, Vidya Charan Shukla and former leader of the opposition in Chhattisgarh Mahendra Karma were at Sukma in Bastar for the rally on May 25.  After holding a public meeting at around 3.10pm, the leaders left for Jagdalpur via Keshrul.

** The convoy (there were 36 vehicles) of the leaders were attacked by around 600-armed naxalites in Jiram Ghat area on Sukma-Jagdalpur road, some 40kms from Jagdalpur, around 3.55pm. The naxalites indiscriminately fired on the leaders and their vehicles. The firing continued for over an hour.

** As many as 24 people, including Patel, Karma and Uday Mudliar died on the spot while 32 persons, including Shukla were injured in the firing.

** Among the Congress leaders, one Avdesh Gautam succeeded to flee from the scene and reached the nearest police station, Darbha and narrated the entire story to the policemen.

** However, the police team and rescue party reached the spot at 7.45pm. The rescue team later admitted all the injured leaders and workers at the government run civil hospital at Jagdalpur. Of them, Shukla was shifted to Gudgaon by a special plane this morning.

more from India

Rebooted: A tale of two cities

With its borders redrawn, Andhra Pradesh is looking to create a truly smart global city with a little help from like-minded Singapore. The Singapore model has all the trappings to tickle Cyber Babu, the endearing nickname Andhra Pradesh chief minister Nara Chandrababu Naidu has earned.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved