HindustanTimes Mon,22 Sep 2014

Congress sniffs Andhra CM’s hand in no-trust vote

Aurangzeb Naqshbandi, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, December 12, 2013
First Published: 01:18 IST(12/12/2013) | Last Updated: 11:07 IST(12/12/2013)

Caught unaware by a no-confidence motion moved in the Lok Sabha by six of its members from Seemandhra, the Congress is seeing a hidden hand of Andhra Pradesh chief minister Kiran Kumar Reddy in the entire political drama.


Congress sources claimed that Reddy, who has upped the ante against the party leadership over the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, had individually called up MPs from Seemandhra to urge them to move the motion.

While many MPs refused to sign the motion, six — Rayapati Sambasiva Rao (Guntur), Sabbam Hari (Anakapalli), Vundavalli Arun Kumar (Rajahmundry), A Sai Prathap (Rajampet), Lagadapati Rajagopal (Vijayawada) and GV Harsha Kumar (Amalapuram) — promptly agreed. Four MPs of the TDP and two belonging to the YSR Congress had also moved separate motions.

Out of these six, the sources said Rajagopal and Rao are considered to be “very close” to the chief minister.

The others refused to sign on the ground that they won’t go against the Congress despite being against the creation of Telangana.

There are already talks that Reddy might quit his post and the Congress to form his own political party that would take on not only the TDP but the YSR Congress party as well.

more from India

RSS rewrites history: Dalits 'created' by Muslim invaders

Emboldened by the BJP’s success in the Lok Sabha elections, the RSS has intensified its efforts to find and validate a common Hindu thread to unify all groups under one Hindu identity.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved