HindustanTimes Sat,20 Sep 2014

Deadline looms for netas to vacate houses

Moushumi Das Gupta, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, July 25, 2014
First Published: 00:45 IST(25/7/2014) | Last Updated: 00:50 IST(25/7/2014)

Over a dozen former UPA ministers who have failed to vacate their official accommodation may face forcible eviction after July 26, the second deadline given to them by the urban development (UD) ministry to move out of their plush bungalows.

The 14 former ministers who have continued to stay in their official bungalows, despite losing elections include CP Joshi, Subodh Kant Sahay, Kapil Sibal, Ashwani Kumar, Sachin Pilot, TR Baalu, Vyalar Ravi, Ajit Singh, S. Jaipal Reddy among others. 

Besides the former UPA ministers, another 128 former MPs who have also failed to vacate their government accommodation also face forcible eviction.

“The process of sending eviction notices has already started. After a notice is served, occupants are given seven days to vacate the house failing which eviction officers are sent to get the house vacated,” said a senior UD ministry official. 

So far 28 former ministers and 130 former MPs have vacated their official accommodation. 

UD ministry officials said that with a majority of MPs/ministers yet to move out, it has become an uphill task for the government to provide accommodation to new members, many of whom are first timers. They have been forced to stay in state bhavans and government guest houses.

Under the rules, a minister can hold on to his or her official accommodation for a month after demitting office.

more from India

35 Chinese PLA soldiers return to Chumar, sit on a hillock

Official sources said about 35 PLA men returned to Chumar in northeast Ladakh and were perched on a hillock claiming the area to be part of China while another 300 soldiers were maintaining presence close to Line of Actual Control.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved