HindustanTimes Wed,17 Sep 2014

Delhi: Four Metro stations to remain closed today

IANS  New Delhi, January 20, 2014
First Published: 09:38 IST(20/1/2014) | Last Updated: 09:54 IST(20/1/2014)

In wake of the protest called by the Aam Aadmi Party, four Metro stations - Patel Chowk, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan and Race Course - will remain closed from 9am to 1pm Monday, a Delhi Metro Rail Corporation official said.

"As advised by the Delhi Police, Patel Chowk, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan and Race Course metro stations will remain closed from 9am to 1pm in the wake of the 'dharna' by the AAP at North Block," the official said.

However, this will not affect the interchange at the Central Secretariat Metro station.

"Controlled exit of government employees from the Central Secretariat station will be allowed after checking their IDs," the official added.

The AAP Sunday said it will go ahead with its protest outside the union home ministry office in New Delhi Monday if five police officials are not suspended for their alleged inaction in busting a "prostitution and drug racket" and in a dowry case.

The party has alleged that the policemen did not cooperate with Delhi law minister Somnath Bharti during his vigilante-style raid Wednesday night and on minister Rakhi Birla's complaint concerning "improper action" in a dowry case.

more from India

'If Patel had handled Kashmir, part of it would not have been under Pak'

BJP president Amit Shah on Wednesday said Pakistan would not have been holding a part of Kashmir and Article 370 would not have existed had Sardar Vallabhai Patel, instead of Jawharlal Nehru, handled the Kashmir issue.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved