DISHA committees to monitor 28 govt flagship schemes | india-news | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

DISHA committees to monitor 28 govt flagship schemes

india Updated: Aug 01, 2016 17:43 IST

28 flagship schemes, including Swachh Bharat scheme, will be monitored by the istrict Infrastructure Scheme Advisory Committees (DISHA).(PTI file)

The Disha committees headed by the local Lok Sabha member will monitor 28 flagship schemes, including Digital India, Swachh Bharat, at the district level and MPs and MLAs will be a part of the panel.

The District Vigilance and Monitoring Committee is being restructured as District Infrastructure Scheme Advisory Committees (DISHA).

It will be headed by the respective LS MPs and will include MLAs and local elected representatives like sarpanch among others, a source said.

The committees will be formed for all districts and will have MPs, MLAs and other representatives for all political parties, the source added.

The panel will ensure that all flagship programmes are implemented in a time-bound manner. It would also ensure transparency and quality implementation, the source said.

Secretary, rural development, Amarjit Sinha said that earlier the district-level committee was looking after the execution of the programmes of rural development only whereas DISHA will now take care of all the major flagship programmes which have clear time-bound deliverables like Swachh Bharat, Digital India besides looking at the programmes of rural development.

“Altogether there are 28 programmes which this committee will monitor. The intent is to primarily remove difficulties in implementation at the tehsil level to ensure better development coordination and, more importantly all schemes are implemented as per the guidelines given to them,” Sinha added.

Last week, rural development minister Narendra Singh Tomar had briefed his party’s MPs about the DISHA committees at the BJP Parliamentary Party meeting, which was also attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party president Amit Shah besides other senior leaders.