HindustanTimes Thu,18 Sep 2014

Elected for united AP, MLAs and MPs to be shifted later

Prasad Nichenametla , Hindustan Times  Hyderabad, March 06, 2014
First Published: 01:05 IST(6/3/2014) | Last Updated: 01:12 IST(6/3/2014)

Altogether 62.4 million voters of Andhra Pradesh will vote for the Lok Sabha and the state assembly simultaneously while the state bifurcation is still underway. The state will vote as one entity for the assembly for one last time this summer. It would also elect the 42 MPs as representatives of the united Andhra Pradesh.


But the poll schedule announced by the Chief Election Commissioner on Wednesday stipulates that the two regions – coming to terms with the division after a massive strife - vote separately on two different days. All of Telangana, which has 119 MLAs and 17 MPs, will vote on April 30, while Seemandhra, with 175 MLAs and 25 MPs, will vote a week later on May 7.

Though Parliament approved the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2014 last month and President Pranab Mukherjee gave his assent extending a legal sanctity, the two states of Telangana and Seemandhra will come into being only on June 2 – the appointed date as announced by the Central government on Tuesday.

Election map

Roll over the map to find poll dates, phases in which the poll would be conducted and total number of constituencies.

more from India

Widows from other states should not crowd Mathura: Hema Malini

Actor-turned politician Hema Malini has stoked a controversy with her remarks that widows from Bengal and Bihar should not crowd Vrindavan, the holy city in Uttar Pradesh and home to thousands of destitute women.

Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved