HindustanTimes Wed,16 Apr 2014

Election to RS in four states to take place today

ANI  New Delhi, February 07, 2014
First Published: 11:36 IST(7/2/2014) | Last Updated: 11:43 IST(7/2/2014)

Biennial polls to the Rajya Sabha in four states covering 18 seats will be held on Friday.


The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for the polls and appointed four chief electoral officers of other states as special observers.

The election for six seats in Andhra Pradesh, five in West Bengal, four in Odisha and for three seats in Assam will take place in state Legislative Assembly premises where the MLAs will cast their votes.

Elections were due for 55 seats in 16 States. As many as 37 candidates from 12 states have already been declared elected unopposed.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved