HindustanTimes Fri,24 Oct 2014

Haryana MC elections in 7 districts to be held as per schedule on June 2

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, May 21, 2013
First Published: 21:41 IST(21/5/2013) | Last Updated: 21:43 IST(21/5/2013)

The municipal corporation (MC) elections for six MCs of Haryana would be conducted as per its schedule on June 2 as the Punjab and Haryana high court refused to stay the election process, on Tuesday.


As per the notification issued on May 9, voting in all wards of municipal corporations of Panipat, Panchkula, Ambala, Karnal, Hisar, Rohtak and Yamunanagar would be held on June 2 and counting of votes would be done on June 4.

However, four petitions were filed in the high court seeking stay on state election commission’s notification issued on May 9 declaring election process in all wards of municipal corporations on the ground that de-limitation (wardbandi) exercise was done on the basis of 2001 census rather than the latest 2011 census.

However, the state government informed the high court on Tuesday that it was duty bound to conduct the elections as according to rules no corporation could remain without elected body for a period of over three years and three months. It was further informed that the seats of newly constituted municipal corporations have been fixed as per 2001 census figures because the 2011 census figures have not been released till date by the director, census operations, Haryana.

The court was informed that the state government is going to release final population data upto village level in the rural areas and upto ward level in towns on May 22.

After hearing the arguments, the division bench headed by justice Surya Kant adjourned the case for July 15 with the directions that elections would be subject to the outcome of the case.

more from India

Modi announces Rs 745 crore relief for Kashmir's flood-hit homes and hospitals

The Prime Minister said the relief of Rs 570 crores was for rehabilitation of the flood affected and Rs 175 crores for renovation of six hospitals in the state. This is the PM's fourth visit to the state since he came to power in May.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved