HindustanTimes Thu,25 Dec 2014

Girl empowerment scheme fails in Jaisalmer

Digvijay Singh  Jaisalmer, February 24, 2014
First Published: 15:13 IST(24/2/2014) | Last Updated: 15:17 IST(24/2/2014)

The Krishi Gyan Yojana started in 2011 by then state government to encourage girl students study agricultural subjects and help their parents in


agricultural activities is not bringing desired results in the absence of basic infrastructure.

Under the scheme, girl students passing class 12 with agriculture subjects were promised Rs. 5,000 per annum. Similarly, girls doing graduation and

post-graduation were to be given Rs. 10,000 and Rs. 15,000 respectively. Last year, the state government made changes in the scheme to include more

beneficiaries, said Bhairav Singh, an educationist.

Under the new scheme, the government announced to award girls of class 11 and PhD with Rs. 3,000 and Rs. 10,000 respectively. The assistance to

post-graduate girls was also increased up to Rs. 20,000 from Rs. 15,000.
However, a majority of the girls are unable to take advantage of the scheme in the absence basic infrastructure.  "No matter how many schemes government

designs to educate girls about latest agricultural techniques, but unless there are enough educational institutes and industries, these schemes will not be

beneficial," said a student, Suraj Kanwar.

Agriculture officer Gurbakh Singh said the scheme has failed in Jaisalmer district in the absence of schools, colleges and universities teaching agriculture

subjects. Principals of schools and colleges have been entrusted with the responsibility of making the scheme a success. In such a situation, its effects are

visible. "The agriculture department did not allocate budget this year, as there is no institute teaching agriculture subjects in Jaisalmer," said Bhairav Singh.
There are more than 70,000 families, which earn their livelihood from farming in Jaisalmer.


more from Jaipur

Rajasthan govt soon to adopt ‘backward’ Bharatpur division, says Raje

The Rajasthan government has planned to adopt the ‘backward’ Bharatpur division, chief minister Vasundhra Raje said on Wednesday. The division comprises Bharatpur, Dholpur, Sawai Madhopur and Karauli districts.

Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved