Jayalalithaa thanks voters for party’s sweeping victory in TN bypolls | india-news | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Jayalalithaa thanks voters for party’s sweeping victory in TN bypolls

india Updated: Nov 22, 2016 20:29 IST

AIADMK cadres celebrating for their party's victory of three Assembly bypolls in front of Apollo Hospital where J Jayalalithaa is undergoing treatment in Chennai on Tuesday. (PTI Photo)

AIADMK supremo and chief minister Jayalalithaa on Tuesday thanked the voters for electing her party candidates in the bypoll elections for three assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu.

She asserted that it was a victory for her regime’s “achievements, welfare measures and visionary schemes.”

Expressing her “heartfelt thanks” to voters for “giving me consecutive electoral victories,” she said the poll win “proved yet again that people are on my side” in a veiled attack on arch rival DMK.

She said people voted for AIADMK candidates by a huge margin after considering her regime’s “achievements, welfare measures and visionary schemes.”

In a party release here, she said,”I would like to happily inform you that my work will continue according to your expectations.”

She said,”the electoral victory has given me, boundless joy and enthusiasm,” adding she was now recuperating.

Stating that she would never forget people’s “great love,” for her, she thanked them for it.

She said she was aware that people, and her party workers were offering prayers continuously for her recovery and scores of them were also visiting the hospital to enquire about her health.

Also, she thanked her party functionaries, cadres and leaders of alliance parties for their election work in the three constituencies.

Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa has been in the hospitali since September 22 after she complained of high fever and dehydration. She was shifted from the critical care unit (CCU) to a private ward of Apollo Hospital in Chennai on Saturday.

Read| Ruling parties have a blast: BJP, TMC win 2 LS seats each, AIADMK sweeps TN