HindustanTimes Wed,16 Apr 2014

Jharkhand CM inducts six new Cabinet ministers

PTI  Ranchi, August 04, 2013
First Published: 12:12 IST(4/8/2013) | Last Updated: 12:17 IST(4/8/2013)

Jharkhand chief minister Hemant Soren on Sunday inducted six ministers in his cabinet.


Governor Syed Ahmed administered the oath to all the six newly-inducted ministers simultaneously at Raj Bhavan.

The newly inducted ministers are Champai Soren, Simon Marandi, Hazi Hussan Ansari, Jaiprakash Bhai Patel (all JMM), Suresh Paswan (RJD) and Geetashree Oraon (Congress).

With Sunday's expansion, the chief minister now has nine ministers in his council.

As per the constitutional provision he can have a maximum of 12 ministers including himself.

The Hemant Soren-led government (JMM, Congress, RJD and some smaller parties and independents) had taken oath on July 13 after staking claim for government formation on July 9.

more from India

Battle of votes: Margin, not victory, is the challenge for Sonia Gandhi, Narendra Modi

Their victories ensured — more or less, so to speak — the battle between Congress chief Sonia Gandhi and the BJP’s PM candidate Narendra Modi seems to have turned into a margin war. And beleaguered Congress may again outsmart challenger BJP.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved