HindustanTimes Thu,18 Sep 2014

LS panel tells ex-MPs to vacate bungalows

Moushumi Das Gupta, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, June 20, 2014
First Published: 02:36 IST(20/6/2014) | Last Updated: 02:39 IST(20/6/2014)

Former Members of Parliament (MPs) used to living in the plush environs of Lutyens’ Bungalow Zone (LBZ) and who had sought an extension from the government to hold on to their government allotted bungalows/flats have been dealt a blow.

The Lok Sabha house committee on Thursday unanimously rejected the application of some 140 former MPs seeking an extension and asked them to vacate their official accommodation immediately.

The Lok Sabha Secretariat had served notice to 265 former MPs to shift out of their official residences by June 18.

But till Thursday just 82 had complied. Some 182 former MPs, a majority of them from the Congress including former highways minister CP Joshi, Sandeep Dikshit, Raj Babbar and BJP’s Syed Shahnawaz Hussain are still holding on to their bungalows.  
 “The house committee has the challenging task to provide accommodation to over 300 first time MPs on an urgent basis. In view of this, the committee has decided to reject all applications seeking extension,” a source said.

The committee headed by BJP’s Kirit Somaiya is also writing to the Directorate of Estates directing them to start eviction proceedings against those former MPs who are overstaying.

The house committee has also fixed norms for allotment of houses. While MPs who have served eight terms or more will be entitled to a Type VIII house, first time MPs would be given a Type V bungalow.

more from India

Widows from other states should not crowd Mathura: Hema Malini

Actor-turned politician Hema Malini has stoked a controversy with her remarks that widows from Bengal and Bihar should not crowd Vrindavan, the holy city in Uttar Pradesh and home to thousands of destitute women.

Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved