Mahendragarh, Bhiwani included in NCR

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • |
  • Updated: Jul 02, 2013 00:56 IST

The National Capital Region (NCR) Planning Board on Monday approved the inclusion of Haryana's Mahendragarh and Bhiwani districts in the NCR, besides agreeing to consider the proposal for inclusion of Jind and Karnal districts.

The NCR includes the whole of Delhi and parts of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan.

An official release said union urban development minister Kamal Nath gave the nod in this regard at the 33rd meeting of the board in New Delhi. Nath said there was a need for a regional rapid transit system (RRTS) for economic development of the NCR. The NCR Transport Corporation, which would soon be formed, would implement RRTS projects of Delhi-Panipat (111 km), Delhi-Alwar (180 km) and Delhi-Meerut (90 km), he said, adding that the work on these three corridors would start soon and be completed by 2016.

Speaking at the meeting, Haryana chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda said the Haryana sub-region had fulfilled the objectives of creation of the NCR by effectively checking migration to Delhi and also attracting reverse migration. Gurgaon city has grown at a rate of 293% in the past decade, registering the highest growth rate in the region, and there is a need to improve basic infrastructure, he said.

He also highlighted the need for additional road links for smooth traffic movement between Delhi and Haryana NCR towns. He mentioned Delhi-Gurgaon, Delhi-Sonepat and Badli-Indira Gandhi International Airport links in this context.

During the meeting, Haryana got appreciation for completing the three road projects funded by the Asian Development Bank. The latter has now approved six more road projects for the state.

The meeting was also attended by Delhi Lt Governor Tejender Khanna, Delhi chief minister Sheila Dikshit, union housing and urban poverty alleviation minister Girija Vyas, urban development ministers from Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan, besides senior officers of central and state governments.

The board also approved the inclusion of Bharatpur district of Rajasthan in the NCR, the release said.


also read

NCR pie grows with slices of Haryana, Rajasthan

blog comments powered by Disqus